Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Theater

Research Guides

Experimental Theatre

American avant-garde theatre : a history

Aronson, Arnold. (Routledge, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2193 .E86 A88 2000

Series: Theatre production studies. Includes bibliographical references (p. [224]-232) and index.

Anne Bogart : viewpoints

(Smith and Kraus, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2287 .B478 A83 1995

Contents: Terror, disorientation and difficulty / Anne Bogart -- Source-work, the viewpoints and composition : what are they? / Tina Landau -- Imaging Anne : a Dramaturg's notebook / Gregory Gunter -- Seven points of view / Ellen Lauren -- Reflections on Anne / Eduardo Machado -- Making up the rules / Charles L. Mee, Jr. -- Creating a new/different America / Tadashi Suzuki -- Anne Bogart and the new play / Paula Vogel -- Meat of the medium : Anne Bogart and the American avant-garde / Porter Anderson -- Worlds of Bogart / Mel Gussow -- Paradox of the circle : Anne Bogart's creative encounter with East Asian performance traditions / Eelka Lampe -- Small lives/big dreams / SITI company.

Around the absurd : essays on modern and postmodern drama

Brater, Enoch; Cohn, Ruby (eds.). (University of Michigan Press, c1990)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1861 .A76 1990

Series: Theater--theory/text/performance Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Around the absurd / Ruby Cohn -- Dagny and Lulu / Jan Kott -- Maeterlinck in the light of the absurd / Katharine Worth -- O'Neill and absurdity / Linda Ben-Zvi -- Tradition and innovation in Ionesco's La Cantatrice chauve / James Knowlson -- Late modernism ; Samuel Beckett and the art of the oeuvre / H. Porter Abbott -- Beckett, Shakespeare, and the making of theory / Charles R. Lyons -- Harold Pinter/politics / Benedict Nightingale -- Peter Barnes and the problem of goodness / Bernard F. Dukore -- A trick of the light : Tom Stoppard's Hapgood and postabsurdist theater / Hersh Zeifman -- Hen in a foxhouse : the absurdist plays of Maria Irene Fornes / Toby Silverman Zinman -- The internationalization of the Paris stage / Rosette C. Lamont -- Framing actuality : thirty years of experimental theater, 1959-89 / Theodore Shank -- The absurd, to and fro / Bernard Weiner -- The oversight of ceaseless eyes / Herbert Blau -- After the absurd : rethinking realism and a few other isms / Enoch Brater.

Art of time; essays on the avant-garde

Kirby, Michael. (E. P. Dutton, 1969)
McNichols Campus Library
NX 65 .K5

Contents: The art of time.--Naturalistic theatre.--The new theatre.--Objective dance.--The uses of film in the new theatre.--Environmental theatre.--The activity.--Performance chronology.--Embedded sculpture.--Sculpture as a visual instrument.--Marjorie Strider's interdimensional sculpture.--The experience of kinesis.

Avant-garde performance & the limits of criticism : approaching the Living Theatre, happenings/Fluxus, and the Black Arts movement

Sell, Mike. (University of Michigan Press, c2008)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2297 .L5 S45 2008

Contents: Introduction: The revolution will not be theorized -- Case 1: The connection: cruelty, jazz, and drug war, 1959-1963 -- Chapter 1: Cruelty and the cold war -- Chapter 2: Jazz and drug war -- Case 2: Happenings, fluxus, and the production of memory -- Chapter 3: Bad memory -- Chapter 4: The avant-garde disappears -- Chapter 5: Performance and the mode of production -- Case 3: The Black Arts Movement: text, performance, blackness -- Chapter 6: Blackness as critical practice -- Chapter 7: Blackness and text -- Chapter 8: Was the Black Arts Movement an avant-garde?

Avant-garde: the experimental theater in France

Pronko, Leonard Cabell. (University of California Press, 1962)
McNichols Campus Library
PQ 558 .P7 1962

Bibliography: p. 217-225.

Death of character : perspectives on theater after modernism

Fuchs, Elinor. (Indiana University Press, c1996)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2193 .E86 F83 1996

Series: Drama and performance studies. Includes bibliographical references (p. 199-217) and index.

Disrupting the spectacle : five years of experimental and fringe theatre in Britain

Ansorge, Peter. (Pitman, 1975)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2595 .A6

"Play list": p. 83-84. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Experimental theatre from Stanislavsky to today

Roose-Evans, James. (Universe Books [1970])
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2189 .R6

German expressionist theatre and performance in Weimar

Kuhns, David F.. (Cambridge University Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2654 .K65 1997

Includes index.

Grotowski's objective drama research

Wolford, Lisa. (University Press of Mississippi, 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2859 .P66 G79 1996

Series: Performance studies (Jackson, Miss.) Includes bibliographical references (p. [203]-208) and index.

Joseph Chaikin : exploring at the boundaries of theater

Blumenthal, Eileen. (Cambridge University Press, 1984)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2287 .C46 B58 1984

Directors In Perspective Series. Includes index. Bibliography: p. 250-255.

Manhattan Experimental Theater Workshop

Manhattan Arts Center.

Offers information on workshops and seminars in experimental theatre.

Modern French theatre : the avant-garde, Dada, and surrealism : an anthology of plays

Benedikt, Michael (ed.). (Dutton, 1964)
McNichols Campus Library
PQ 1240 .E5 B4

Contents: King Ubu, by Alfred Jarry -- The breasts of Tiresias, by Guillaume Apollinaire -- The wedding on the Eiffel Tower, by Jean Cocteau -- The pelicans, by Raymond Radiguet -- The gas heart, by Tristan Tzara -- If you please, by André Breton and Philippe Soupault -- The mirror-wardrobe one fine evening, by Louis Aragon -- A circus story, by Armand Salacrou -- En gggarrrde!, by René Daumal -- The odyssey of Ulysses the Palmiped, by Roger Gilbert-Lecomte -- Jet of blood, by Antonin Artaud -- The mysteries of love, by Roger Vitrac -- Humulus the Mute, by Jean Anouilh and Jean Aurenche -- La Place de l'Etoile, by Robert Desnos -- One way for another, by Jean Tardieu -- Architruc, by Robert Pinget -- The painting, by Eugène Ionesco.

Not the other avant-garde : the transnational foundations of avant-garde performance

Harding, James Martin; Rouse, John. (University of Michigan Press, c2006)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2193 .E86 N68 2006

From cutting edge to rough edges : on the transnational foundations of avant-garde performance / James M. Harding -- The TDR Black theatre issue : refiguring the avant-garde / Harry J. Elam, Jr. -- Avant-garde and performance cultures in Africa / Joachim Fiebach -- The other avant-garde : the theater of radical aesthetics and the poetics and politics of performance in contemporary Africa / John Conteh-Morgan -- Avant-garde drama in the Middle East / Marvin Carlson -- Made in Mexico : the theatrical avant-garde and the formation of a nation / Adam Versényi -- Aesthetics, politics, and vanguardias in twentieth-century Argentinean theater / Jean Graham-Jones -- From "vanguard" to "avant-garde"? Questioning the progressive Bengali theater of Kolkata / Sudipto Chatterjee -- From liminality to ideology : the politics of embodiment in pre-war avant-garde theater in Japan / Peter Eckersall -- Angura : Japan's nostalgic avant-garde / David G. Goodman -- Border crossings : three transnationalisms of fluxus / Hannah Higgins.

Open Theater: "Fable" [videorecording] : with actors from the Open Theater

(Creative Arts Television, 1998, c1975)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2061 .O65 1995

1 VHS videocassette (29 min.). Credits: Writer/narrator: Margaret Croyden ; photography, Michael Livesey. Cast: Host: Margaret Croyden. Actors and commentary: Andre Gregory, Joyce Aaron, Shami Chaikin, Betina Shepard, Paul Zimet. Summary: This program examines approaches to acting through experiments with the voice and the body. It features members of the Open Theater ensemble in an excerpt from their production "Fable", an interview with director, Andre Gregory and scenes with voice coach Kristin Linklater working with students in innovative acting exercises.

Other theatres : the development of alternative and experimental theatre in Britain

Davies, Andrew. (Barnes & Noble, 1987)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2595.13E97 D38 1987

Includes indexes. Bibliography: p. 218-234.

Paradise now [videorecording]

(Mystic Fire Video, c1995)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2193 .E86 P37 1995

1 VHS videocassette (105 min.). Cast: The Living Theatre Company. Notes: Directors' Fortnight Selection, Cannes Film Festival, 1970. In French, German, and English with English subtitles. Summary: This videotape was shot during the last presentations of Paradise Now in Brussels and before 7,000 spectators in the Berlin Sportspalast. Expressionistic coloring has been injected by electronic means. During the four hours of performance, a baccanal of forms and confrontations goes on in every part of the theater. Paradise Now is mind blowing and innovative blurring of the line between political action, psychotherapy, tribal ritual and experimental theatre.

Revolutionaries in the theater : Meyerhold, Brecht, and Witkiewicz

Kiebuzinska, Christine Olga.. (UMI Research Press, c1988)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2193 .E86 K54 1988

Series: Theater and dramatic studies. no. 49. Includes index. Bibliography: p. [165]-176.

Symbolist theater : the formation of an avant-garde

Deak, Frantisek. (Johns Hopkins University Press, c1993)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2634 .D43 1993

Contents: Symbolists and the Nineteenth-Century theater -- Metaphysical theater of Villiers de I'Isle-Adam -- Mallarmé's conceptual theater -- Richard Wagner and the French symbolists -- Théâtre d'Art, 1890-1892 -- Théâtre de l'Oeuvre, 1893-1897 -- Art of personality.

Twentieth-century Polish avant-garde drama : plays, scenarios, critical documents

Witkiewicz, Stanisław Ignacy. (Cornell University Press, 1977)
McNichols Campus Library
PG 7445.E5 T9

Bibliography: p. 281-287.

Patricia S. Higo

Associate Librarian
Archives & Archive Collection Management
McNichols Campus Library

higopa@udmercy.edu
313-578-0435

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top