Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Theater

Research Guides

Method Acting

Acting with Adler

Rotté, Joanna. (Limelight Editions, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2062 .R68 2000

An actor prepares

Stanislavsky, Konstantin. (Theatre Arts Books, [1948] 1961 printing)
McNichols Campus Library
PN2065 .S713 1948; PN 2065 .S78

Translation of pt. 2 of Rabota aktera nad soboĭ.

American film acting : the Stanislavski heritage

Blum, Richard A.. (UMI Research Press, c1984.)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1995 .B4978 1984

Revision of thesis--University of Southern California, 1977. Includes index. Bibliography: p. [103]-111.

Beyond Stanislavsky : the psycho-physical approach to actor training

Merlin, Bella. (Nick Hern Books, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2062 .M47 2001

Includes bibliographical references.

Dream of passion : the development of the method

(Little, Brown, c1987)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2062 .S795 1987

Into the post-war era

(Films for the Humanities & Sciences, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2266.3 .I58 1999

1 videocassette (30 min.) : sd., col. with b&w sequences ; 1/2 in. Summary: This program considers the unique synergy between method acting and poetic realism, marking the changes in American theater from pre- to post-World War II society. America's newfound place on the world stage is spotlighted, along with the careers of Paul Robeson, Canada Lee, and Marlon Brando. Milestone plays such as A Streetcar named desire, Cat on a hot tin roof, Bus stop and The crucible, and the iconic stature of Times Square, the heart of New York's mainstream theater, reflected the nation's cultural history.

Method acting reconsidered : theory, practice, future

Krasner, David. (St. Martin's Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2062 .M48 2000

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Play-acting : a guide to theatre workshops

Dixon, Luke. (Methuen, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2062 .D59 2003

Stanislavski, an introduction

Benedetti, Jean. (Theatre Arts Books, 1982)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2062 .B46 1982

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Stanislavski and the actor

Benedetti, Jean. (Routledge/Theatre Arts Books, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2062 .B47 1998

Stanislavsky century

(Films for the Humanities & Sciences, c1994)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2728 .S78 S73 1994 pt. 1-3

3 videocassettes (173 min.) : sd., b&w and col. ; 1/2 in. Contents: Episode one: The builders of Utopia (62 min.) -- Episode two: The seismic years (56 min.) -- Episode three: The years of ice and fire (55 min.) Summary: The life and work of Stanislavsky are shown in film footage from his early years in Russia, his tours of France, and his years in the United States. Includes scenes from his productions of the Chekhov plays, Ibsen, Gogol, Hamlet, and other works. Describes his development of the acting system now known as "method acting."

Stanislavsky on the art of the stage. Translated with an introductory essay on Stanislavsky's system

Stanislavsky, Konstantin. (Hill and Wang [1961])
McNichols Campus Library
PN2065 .S6535 1961

Stanislavski system; the professional training of an actor. Digested from the teachings of Konstantin S. Stanislavski

Moore, Sonia. (Viking Press [1965])
McNichols Campus Library
PN2065 .M6 1965

Rev. and enl. ed. of The Stanislavski method. Bibliography: p. 111-112.

Theatrgroup "Method" Acting Procedures

TheatrGROUP is a theatre company with "method" acting training on-site. It is open 24-hours, seven days a week for members. This page will lead interested individuals to descriptions of various techniques and procedures of so-called "method" acting. What you will find here is not copied from books. It's in my own words, and composed for you with definitions, analogies, descriptions and examples of this work which I am able to relate to you after studying, teaching and using it as an actor for the past 28 years. I hope you enjoy. There are many fine books about this subject, and I have listed my favorites, with descriptions of their contents at this site. Harry Governick Artistic Director TheatrGROUP, Inc.

Patricia S. Higo

Associate Librarian
Archives & Archive Collection Management
McNichols Campus Library

higopa@udmercy.edu
313-578-0435

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top