Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Communication Studies

Research Guides

Journalism Ethics

Codes of Ethics

American Society of Newspaper Editors (ASNE).

This website includes links to codes of ethics from various associations of media professionals, media companies, and newspapers.

EthicNet

A list of links to european media ethics codes.

Journalism ethics for the global citizen

University of British Columbia School of Journalism.

This excellent resource includes articles on media ethics, links to websites for reporters, ethics, photojournalists and t.v. broadcasters, an overview of the history of and approaches to journalism ethics, information on media law, and interviews with ethics experts.  It also has special sections on online, global and citizen journalism ethics.

Mediawise... for better journalism

Mediawise, a nonprofit U.K. organization that promotes journalism ethics, created this website with links to resources, articles and reports on issues such as reporting on children, violence, refugees, and suicide.  The site also includes links to codes of conduct from journalism organizations around the world.

Journalism Ethics Cases Online

Indiana University School of Journalism.

Over 100 real cases involving ethical issues such as personal privacy versus the public's "right to know", how to deal with and evaluate sources, and reporting on political issues and candidates without bias.

Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma

Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma.

This website includes tip sheets, field guides and best practices for covering disasters and other traumatic events.

All the news unfit to print : how things were-- and how they were reported

Burns, Eric. (John Wiley & Sons, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4784 .O24 B88 2009

American television news : the media marketplace and the public interest

Barkin, Steve M.. (M. E. Sharpe, 2003)
PN 4888 .T4 B29 2003

Assessing public journalism

Lambeth, Edmund B.; Meyer, Philip E.; Thorson, Esther (eds.).. (University of Missouri Press, 1998)
PN 4756 .A85 1998

Changing faces of journalism : tabloidization, technology and truthiness

Zelizer, Barbie (ed.).. (Routledge, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4815.2 .C43 2009

"Based on papers presented at a one-day symposium held on November 30, 2007 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; sponsored by the University of Pennsylvania's Annenberg School for Communication."

Concise encyclopedia of ethics in politics and the media

Chadwick, Ruth. (Academic Press, 2001)
PN 4756 .C66 2001

Covering violence : a guide to ethical reporting about victims and trauma

Simpson, Roger; Coté, William. (Columbia University Press, 2006)
PN 4784 .D57 C68 2006

Disconnected : politics, the press and the public

Columbia Universtiy Graduate School of Journalism;Thirteen/WNET New York; Century Foundation.. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4751 .D58 2000

"A panel discussion focusing on the current state of the press coverage in its role to inform the public and to reflect the public's concerns especially in view of the election process." Host: Peter Jennings; Moderator: Arthur Miller Panelists: CBS News' Dan Rather, CNN's Jeff Greenfield, Gwen Ifill of Washington Week in Review, Congressman Barney Frank, political analyst, Ed Rollins, activist and rapper, Chuck D. (58 min.)

Elements of journalism : what newspeople should know and the public should expect

Kovach, Bill; Rosenstiel, Tom. (Revised ed., Three Rivers Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4756 .K67 2007

Table of Contents

Embargoed science

Kiernan, Vincent. (University of Illinois Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
Q 225 .K48 2006

Environment and the press : from adventure writing to advocacy

Neuzil, Mark. (Northwestern University Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
P 96 .E57 N48 2008

Free speech

MacNeil-Lehrer Productions. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2006)
PN 4874 .B6615 F744 2006

1 DVD, 57 minutes.

"Summary: Ben Bradlee, the former managing editor of the Washington Post, sheds light on his early friendship with John F. Kennedy, the Watergate story, the eventual release of Deep Throat's identity, the Janet Cooke debacle, and other experiences. He also answers pointed questions on journalistic ethics, exploring scenarios in which professional integrity can be compromised."

Future of fact

Strange, Jeffrey J.; Katz, Elihu. (Sage Publications, 1998)
H 1 .A4 v.560

Global journalist : news and conscience in a world of conflict

Seib, Philip M.. (Rowman & Littlefield, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4736 .S45 2002

Good news, bad news : journalism ethics and the public interest

Iggers, Jeremy. (Westview Press, 1998)
PN 4756 .I34 1998

Holding the media accountable : citizens, ethics, and the law

Pritchard, David. (Indiana University Press, 2000)
P 94 .H65 2000

Jayson Blair story : favoritism and plagiarism at The New York Times

ABC News Productions. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4781 .J39 2003 DVD

Originally broadcast on the television news program: Nightline, 5/15/2003. "Chronicles the sensational rise and fall of Jayson Blair, the journalist of the New York Times, who was found guilty of plagiarism. It also assesses the impact of the scandal on The Times, the credibility of the news media, and equal." (23 min.)

Journalism ethics : a philosophical approach

Meyers, Christopher. (Oxford University Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4756 .J665 2010

Journalism ethics : a reference handbook

Cohen, Elliot D.; Elliott, Deni (eds.).. (ABC-CLIO, 1997)
PN 4756 .J67 1997

Journalistic ethics : moral responsibility in the media

Jacquette, Dale. (Pearson Prentice Hall, 2007)
PN 4756 .J33 2007

Table of Contents

Managing television news : a handbook for ethical and effective producing

Silcock, B. William; Heider, Don; Rogus, Mary T.. (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2007)
PN 4784 .T4 S54 2007

Managing television news : a handbook for ethical and effective producing

Silcock, B. William; Heider, Don; Rogus, Mary T.. (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2007)
PN 4784 .T4 S54 2007

Mixed media : moral distinctions in advertising, public relations, and journalism

Bivins, Thomas H.. (Routledge, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
P 94 .B53 2009

Media and morality : on the rise of the mediapolis

Silverstone, Roger. (Polity Press, 2007)
P 94 .S54 2007

Moral media : how journalists reason about ethics

Wilkins, Lee; Coleman, Renita. (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2006)
PN 4756 .W56 2005

Table of Contents

Moral reasoning for journalists : cases and commentary

Knowlton, Steven R.. (Praeger, 1997)
PN 4756 .K687 1997

Newspaper ethics in the new century : a report to the American Society of Newspaper Editors

Meyer, Philip (ed.).. (American Society of Newspaper Editors, 2006)
PN 4888 .E8 N49 2006

Online journalism ethics : traditions and transitions

Friend, Cecilia; Singer, Jane B. .. (M. E. Sharpe, 2007)
PN 4784 .O62 F75 2007

Table of Contents

People's movements, people's press : the journalism of social justice movements

Ostertag, Bob. (Beacon Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4888 .U5 O88 2006

Sports journalism: ethics and Olympic athletes' rights

MacNeill, Margaret. Mediasport. Wenner, Lawrence A. (ed.). Routledge, 1998.
GV 742 .M337 1998

Picturing atrocity : photography in crisis

Batchen, Geoffrey; Gidley, M.; Miller, Nancy K. et al. (Reaktion Books, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 820.5 .P478 2012

Tabloid tales : global debates over media standards

Sparks, Colin; Tulloch, John. (Rowman & Littlefield, 2000)
PN 4784 .T23 T33 2000

Blur : how to know what's true in the age of information overload

Kovach, Bill; Rosenstiel, Tom. (Bloomsbury, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4815.2 .K68 2011

What are journalists for?

Rosen, Jay. (Yale University Press,)
PN 4749 .R668 2000

Undercover reporting : the truth about deception

Kroeger, Brooke. (Medill School of Journalism/Northwestern University Press, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 4888 .I56 K76 2012

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top